Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety

MONTANA

0
IN 2013 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Montana Rating: Danger

Montana falls dangerously behind in adoption of Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2015 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Stronger Cell Phone Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front)
  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Rear)
Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • GDL – 30-50 Hours Supervised Driving Provision
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction Provision
Mandatory
  • BAC Test Law – Drivers Who Survive
  • 
Ignition Interlock Law
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2012, 25 people were killed in crashes involving teen drivers in Montana.

The current GDL law in Montana includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 14 years and 6 months for learner’s permit, age 15 for the intermediate stage, and age 16 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between 11 a.m. and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 18 for the first 6 months after licensure and prohibiting more than 3 passengers younger than age 18 for the next 6 months after licensure

These changes are needed to improve Montana’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen the nighttime driving restriction for all teen drivers
  • Add a prohibition on non-emergency use of cell phones and other communications devices , including texting while driving, during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages

Want to help make Montana’s roads and highways safer?

 Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha