Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety



Virginia Rating: Caution

traffic-yellowVirginia needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2015 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Stronger Cell Phone Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front)
  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Rear)
Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • GDL – 30-50 Hours Supervised Driving Provision
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction Provision
  • BAC Test Law – Drivers Who Survive
Ignition Interlock Law
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2012, 108 people were killed in crashes involving teen drivers in Virginia.

The current GDL law in Virginia includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 years and 6 months for learner’s permit, age 16 years and 3 months for the intermediate stage, and age 18 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 9 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 45 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 15 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between midnight and 4 a.m. during the intermediate stage (secondary enforcement)
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 18 for the first twelve months after licensure and prohibiting more than three passengers younger than age 18 for the remainder of the intermediate stage (secondary enforcement)
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held and hands-free cell phones for drivers younger than age 18 (secondary enforcement)
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers (secondary enforcement)

These changes are needed to improve Virginia’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Require a passenger restriction to prohibit more than one non-familial passenger under the age of 21 unless a licensed driver over age 21 is in the vehicle, for the entire intermediate stage through age 17
  • Add a nighttime teen driving restriction
  • Add a prohibition on non-emergency use of cell phones and other communications devices , including texting while driving, during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages

Want to help make Virginia’s roads and highways safer?

 Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send