CALIFORNIA

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

California Rating: Good

California is significantly advanced toward adopting all of Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Stronger Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • Ignition Interlock for All Offenders
  • GDL Cell Phone Restriction (Without S)

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period
  • GDL – 50 Hours of Supervised Driving Provision
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

info2  Learn more and contact your California state assemblyperson or state senator.

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 426 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in California.

The current GDL law in  California includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 years and 6 months for learner’s permit, age 16 years for the intermediate stage, and age 17 years for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage (secondary enforcement)
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 20 (with limited exceptions for immediate family) for the first year after licensure (secondary enforcement)
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held cell phones for all drivers (primary enforcement); a prohibition on non-emergency use of hands-free cells phones for drivers younger than age 18 (secondary enforcement)
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve California’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen the nighttime and passenger restriction provisions
  • Add a prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held and hands-free cell phones during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages

Want to help make California’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha