CONNECTICUT

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Connecticut Rating: Caution

Connecticut needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seatbelt Law (Rear)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period (Without DE Exemption)
  • GDL – Stronger Supervised Driving Requirement
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • Open Container Law

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front)
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction
  • IID for All Offenders
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction
  • Child Endangerment

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 29 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Connecticut.

The current GDL law in Connecticut includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 16 for learner’s permit, age 16 years and 6 months for the intermediate stage (16 years 4 months for teens completing driver education), and age 18 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage (4 months for teens completing driver education)
  • A minimum of 40 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting any passengers other than parents or driving instructors for the first 6 months after licensure and prohibiting passengers other than parents, driving instructors, or members of the immediate family for the next 6 months after licensure
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held cell phones for all drivers and on hand-held and hand-free cell phones for drivers younger than age 18
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve Connecticut’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • A 6 month holding period during the learner’s permit stage (without a driver education exemption)
  • Stronger supervised and nighttime driving requirement
  • Require restrictions for the entire intermediate stage through age 17

Want to help make Connecticut's roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha