GEORGIA

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Georgia Rating: Caution

Georgia needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seatbelt Law (Rear)
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL- 50 Hours of Supervised Driving Provision
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Stronger Passenger Restriction
  • GDL- Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction
  • Ignition Interlock for All Offenders

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 202 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Georgia.

The current GDL law in Georgia includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 18 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 12 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 40 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 6 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between midnight and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage (secondary enforcement)
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting passengers during the first 6 months after licensure; prohibiting more than 1 passenger during the next 6 months after licensure; and prohibiting more than 3 passengers during the remainder of the intermediate stage (secondary enforcement)
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of cell phones during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve Georgia’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Strengthen the passenger restriction by prohibiting more than one non-familial passenger under the age of 21 unless a licensed driver over the age of 21 is in the vehicle, for the entire intermediate stage through age 17
  • Require a nighttime driving restriction for the entire intermediate stage through age 17

Want to help make Georgia’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha