IOWA

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Iowa Rating: Caution

Iowa falls dangerously behind in adoption of Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seatbelt Law (Rear)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Stronger Supervised Driving Provision
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Passenger Restrictoin
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front)
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-driver Texting Ban
  • Ignition Interlocks for All Offenders

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 56 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Iowa.

The current GDL law in Iowa includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 14 for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 17 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 12 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 20 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 2 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between 12:30 a.m. and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of cell phones during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve Iowa’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Add a passenger restriction prohibiting more than one non-familial passenger under the age of 21 unless a licensed driver over the age of 21 is in the vehicle, for the entire intermediate stage through age 17
  • Require 30-50 hours of supervised driving during the learner’s permit stage
  • Strengthen the nighttime restrictions on teen drivers

Want to help make Iowa’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha