NEVADA

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Nevada Rating: Caution

Nevada needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Nighttime Restriction (Without S)
  • GDL – Stronger Passenger Restriction
  • GDL- Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • GDL Cell Phone Restriction

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law (18 and Younger)
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period
  • GDL – 50 Hours of Supervised Driving Provision
  • Ignition Interlock for All Offenders
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 27 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Nevada.

The current GDL law in Nevada includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 years and 6 months for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 18 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage (secondary enforcement)
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 18 for the first 6 months after licensure (secondary enforcement)

These changes are needed to improve Nevada’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Strengthen the passenger restriction to prohibit more than one non-familial passenger under the age of 21 unless a licensed driver over age 21 is in the vehicle, for the entire intermediate stage through age 17
  • Add a prohibition on non-emergency use of cell phones and other communications devices , including texting while driving, during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages
  • Require a nighttime driving restriction for all teen drivers

Want to help make Nevada’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha