NEW HAMPSHIRE

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

New Hampshire Rating: Danger

New Hampshire falls dangerously behind in adoption of Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period
  • GDL- Stronger Supervised Driving Requirement
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL- Age 18 for Unrestricted License

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • GDL – 30-50 Hours Supervised Driving Provision
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • 
Ignition Interlock Law
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 16 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in New Hampshire.

The current GDL law in New Hampshire includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 years and 6 months for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 17 years and 1 month for full licensure
  • A minimum of 40 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, 10 of which must occur at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between 1 a.m. and 4 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 25 for the first 6 months after licensure
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve New Hampshire’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Require a 6-month holding period during the learner’s permit stage
  • Strengthen the passenger restriction to prohibit more than one non-familial passenger under the age of 21 unless a licensed driver over age 21 is in the vehicle, for the entire intermediate stage through age 17
  • Strengthen the prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held and hands-free cell phones during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages.

Want to help make New Hampshire’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha