SOUTH DAKOTA

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

South Dakota Rating: Danger

traffic-redSouth Dakota falls significantly behind in adoption of Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period (Without DE Exemption)
  • GDL –  Supervised Driving Requirement
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • Ignition Interlocks for All Offenders
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction
  • GDL Cell Phone Restriction (Without S)

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • GDL – Nighttime Driving Restriction
  • Open Container Law

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 13 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in South Dakota.

The current GDL law in South Dakota includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 14 for learner’s permit, age 14 years and 6 months for the intermediate stage (age 14 years and 3 months for teens who complete driver education), and age 16 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage (3 months for teens who complete driver education)
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. during the intermediate stage

These changes are needed to improve South Dakota’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Have a 6 month holding period for a learner’s permit
  • Add a passenger restriction prohibiting more than one non-familial passenger under the age of 21 unless a licensed driver over the age of 21 is in the vehicle, for the entire intermediate stage through age 17
  • Add a prohibition on non-emergency use of cell phones and other communications devices , including texting while driving, during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages
  • Require 30-50 hours of supervised driving during the learner’s permit stage

Want to help make South Dakota’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha