UTAH

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Utah Rating: Caution

traffic-yellowUtah needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL- Stronger Supervised Driving Requirement
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction (Without S)
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction
  • 
IID for All Offenders
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 44 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Utah.

The current GDL law in Utah includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 18 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 40 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between midnight and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting passengers for the first six months after licensure (secondary enforcement)
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held cell phones for all drivers
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve Utah’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen nighttime teen driver restrictions
  • Strengthen supervised driving requirement
  • Require passenger restrictions for all teen drivers (without S)

Want to help make Utah’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha