ALABAMA

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
0
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST FROM MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Alabama Rating: Caution

Alabama needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Rear)
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Stronger Supervised Driving Requirement
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • GDL Cell Phone Restriction

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction Provision
  • Ignition Interlocks for All Offenders
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All Driver Text Messaging Restriction

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 124 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Alabama.

The current GDL law in Alabama includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 17 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage (none required for teens to complete driver education)
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between midnight and 6 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of cell phones and other communications devices during the learner’s permit stage and for the first six months of the intermediate stage

These changes are needed to improve Alabama’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Require 50 Hours of Supervised Driving during the learner’s permit stage (without driver education exemption)
  • Stronger cell phone and nighttime restriction provisions

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Want to help make Alabama’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha