MINNESOTA

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Minnesota Rating: Caution

Minnesota needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL- Stronger Supervised Driving Requirement
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction Provision
  • GDL- Stronger Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • Ignition Interlocks for All Offenders

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 41 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Minnesota.

The current GDL law in Minnesota includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 16, and age 17 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 40 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 15 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between midnight and 5 a.m. for the first 6 months after licensure
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 20 for the first 6 months after licensure and prohibiting more than 3 passengers younger than age 20 for the next 6 months after licensure
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held and hands-free cell phones during the learner’s permit stage and provisional license stage
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve Minnesota’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen the passenger restriction to prohibit more than one non-familial passenger under the age of 21 unless a licensed driver over age 21 is in the vehicle, for the entire intermediate stage through age 17
  • Strengthen the supervised driving requirement

Want to help make Minnesota’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha