NORTH CAROLINA

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

North Carolina Rating: Caution

traffic-yellowNorth Carolina needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Rear)
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • Ignition Interlocks for All Offenders

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • GDL – 50 Hours of Supervised Driving Provision
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Stronger Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduate Driver Licensing

In 2017, 193 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in North Carolina.

The current GDL law in North Carolina includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 16 years and 6 months for full licensure
  • A mandatory 12 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 60 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night and a minimum of 12 hours during the intermediate phase, at least 6 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 21; if a family member younger than age 21 is a passenger, then no other non-familial passengers younger than age 21 are permitted
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held and hands-free cell phones by drivers younger than age 18
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve North Carolina’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17

Want to help make North Carolina’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha