ARIZONA

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Arizona Rating: Danger

Arizona needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seatbelt Law (Front & Rear)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Stronger Supervised Driving Requirement
  • GDL – Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 Unrestricted License
  • GDL Cell Phone Restriction

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • GDL: 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • IID Law for All Offenders
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 120 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Arizona.

The current GDL law in Arizona includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 years and 6 months for learner’s permit, age 16 years for the intermediate stage, and age 16 years and 6 months for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 30 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night (none required for teens to complete driver education)
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between midnight and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage (secondary enforcement)
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 18 for the first six months of licensure (secondary enforcement)

These changes are needed to improve Arizona’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen the passenger restriction to prohibit more than one non-familial passenger under the age of 21 unless a licensed driver over age 21 is in the vehicle, for the entire intermediate stage through age 17
  • Add a prohibition on non-emergency use of cell phones and other communications devices , including texting while driving, during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages
  • Add a nighttime driving restriction provision though age 17
  • Require 30-50 hours of supervised driving during the Learner’s Permit stage

Want to help make Arizona’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha