NEBRASKA

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Nebraska Rating: Danger

Nebraska falls dangerously behind in adoption of Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Supervised Driving Requirement (Without DE Exemption)
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Stronger Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction (Without S)
  • GDL Cell Phone Restriction (Without S)

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period
  • IID for All Offenders
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 34 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Nebraska.

The current GDL law in Nebraska includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 16 years for the intermediate stage, and age 16 and 6 months for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night (none required for teens who complete driver education)
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between midnight and 6 a.m. during the intermediate stage (secondary enforcement)
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 19 for the first 6 months after licensure (secondary enforcement)
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held and hands-free cell phones during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages until age 18 (secondary enforcement)
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers (secondary enforcement)

These changes are needed to improve Nebraska’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen the passenger restriction to prohibit more than one non-familial passenger under the age of 21 unless a licensed driver over age 21 is in the vehicle, for the entire intermediate stage through age 17
  • Require nighttime driving restrictions for all teen drivers
  • Require cell phone use restrictions for all teen drivers

Want to help make Nebraska’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha