WYOMING

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Wyoming Rating: Danger

traffic-redWyoming falls dangerously behind in adoption of Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Laws (Front & Rear)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Stronger Cell Phone Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • Ignition Interlocks for All Offenders
  • Open Container Law
  • GDL cell Phone Restriction

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • GDL- Supervised Driving Provision
  • 
Child Endangerment Law
  • 
All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 13 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Wyoming.

The current GDL law in Wyoming includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 16 years and 6 months for full licensure
  • A mandatory 10 day holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on nighttime driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 18
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve Wyoming’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen the nighttime teen driving restrictions
  • Require a 6 month holding period during the learner’s permit stage
  • Strengthen the passenger restriction provision

Want to help make Wyoming’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha