NEW MEXICO

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

New Mexico Rating: Caution

traffic-yellowNew Mexico needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period
  • GDL – Stronger Supervised Driving Requirement
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction
  • 
Ignition Interlock for All Offenders
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction
  • Child Endangerment Law

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 49 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in New Mexico.

The current GDL law in New Mexico includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 15 years and 6 months for the intermediate stage, and age 16 years and 6 months for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 50 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on nighttime driving between midnight and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 21
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers (primary enforcement)

These changes are needed to improve New Mexico’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions: 

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen nighttime teen driving restrictions
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held and hands-free cell phones during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages until age 18 (secondary enforcement)

Want to help make New Mexico’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha