OREGON

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Oregon Rating: Good

traffic-greenOregon is significantly advanced towards the adoption of Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL- Stronger Supervised Driving Requirement
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL- Stronger Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • 
Booster Seat Law
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • GDL – 30-50 Hours Supervised Driving Provision
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction Provision
  • 
Ignition Interlock Law
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 45 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Oregon.

The current GDL law in Oregon includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 17 for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 100 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage (50 hours for teens who complete driver education)
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between midnight and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting passengers younger than age 20 for the first 6 months after licensure and prohibiting more than 3 passengers younger than age 20 for the next 6 months after licensure
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held cell phones for all drivers and a prohibition on non-emergency use of hands-free cell phones for drivers younger than age 18
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve Oregon’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend all restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen the nighttime restrictions for all teen drivers
  • Strengthen the supervised driving requirement
  • Strengthen the passenger restriction requirement

Want to help make Oregon’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha