KANSAS

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Kansas Rating: Caution

Kansas needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seatbelt Law (Rear)
  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL- Stronger Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front)
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • GDL – 50 Hours of Supervised Driving Provision
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction
  • 
Ignition Interlock for All Offenders
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 63 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Kansas.

The current GDL law in Kansas includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 14 for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 16 years and 6 months for full licensure
  • A mandatory 12 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 25 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, and another 25 hours of supervised driving before age 16; at least 10 of the 50 total hours must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 18 for the first six months after licensure
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hands-free and hand-held cell phones during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages
  • A prohibition on texting for all drivers

These changes are needed to improve Kansas’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend restrictions on teen drivers through age 17

Want to help make Kansas’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha