MISSOURI

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Missouri Rating: Danger

Missouri falls dangerously behind in adoption of Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • 
GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL- Stronger Supervised Driving Requirement
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction
  • GDL – Stronger Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • Open Container Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction
  • GDL Cell Phone Restriction

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • 
Ignition Interlock for All Offenders
  • Child Endangerment Law

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 142 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Missouri.

The current GDL law in Missouri includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 17 years and 11 months for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 40 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting more than one passenger younger than age 19 for the first 6 months after licensure and prohibiting more than 3 passengers younger than age 19 for the remainder of the intermediate stage
  • A prohibition on texting while driving for drivers age 21 and younger

These changes are needed to improve Missouri’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen the nighttime driving restriction for the entire intermediate stage through age 17
  • Add a prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held and hands-free cell phones during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages
  • Strengthen the supervised driving requirement

Want to help make Missouri’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha