MAINE

0
IN 2017 MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES
0
TEN-YEAR TOTAL
1000000
ANNUAL ECONOMIC COST OF MOTOR VEHICLE CRASHES

Maine Rating: Caution

Maine needs improvement because of gaps in Advocates’ recommended optimal laws, as reported in the as reported in the 2019 Roadmap Report.

Highway Safety Laws Needed

  • All-Rider Motorcycle Helmet Law
  • GDL – Minimum Age 16 for Learner’s Permit
  • GDL – Stronger Nighttime Restriction Provision
  • GDL – Age 18 for Unrestricted License
  • Open Container Law

Current Optimal Highway Safety Laws

  • Primary Enforcement Seat Belt Law (Front & Rear)
  • Rear Facing Through Age 2 Law
  • Booster Seat Law
  • GDL – 6-Month Holding Period Provision
  • GDL – 50 Hours of Supervised Driving Provision
  • GDL – Passenger Restriction
  • GDL – Cell Phone Restriction
  • IID for All Offenders
  • Child Endangerment Law
  • All-Driver Text Messaging Restriction

*States are credited with having laws only if their laws meet Advocates’ optimal criteria

Hot Now: Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

In 2017, 18 people were killed in crashes involving young drivers in Maine.

The current GDL law in Maine includes the following components:

  • A three-stage licensing system beginning at age 15 for learner’s permit, age 16 for the intermediate stage, and age 16 years and 9 months for full licensure
  • A mandatory 6 month holding period for the learner’s permit stage
  • A minimum of 70 hours of supervised practice driving during the learner’s permit stage, at least 10 of which must be at night
  • A prohibition on unsupervised nighttime driving between midnight and 5 a.m. during the intermediate stage
  • A passenger restriction prohibiting passengers for the first 180 days after licensure
  • A prohibition on non-emergency use of hand-held and hands-free cell phones during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages
  • A prohibition on texting while driving during the learner’s permit and intermediate stages

These changes are needed to improve Maine’s GDL law and meet optimal GDL provisions:

  • Require age 16 for entry into the learner’s permit stage
  • Extend restrictions on teen drivers through age 17
  • Strengthen nighttime restrictions on teen drivers

Want to help make Maine’s roads and highways safer?

Yes! I am interested in learning how to get involved with advocacy in my state.

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Phone (required)

My State (required)

My interest in Advocates (optional)

Please type the characters here and then click send

captcha